Skip to content

Are you satisfied?

August 17, 2009

Welcome to the MarketWave Wavelengths blog and our first post.  As the owner of the business I figured it would be a good idea if I wrote the first couple of posts to kick this off and join the online conversation that has already enriched me as a blog reader for several years.

This will be a group-authored blog.  We work so closely as a team on everything else that we decided it was best that we also blog as a team.  That way you’ll experience a variety of perspectives – all different wavelengths – about what we care about, observe, agree or disagree with about business and life through our marketer’s lens.

So…away we go…

A thought for today….or, as late as this might post, for tonight.

Are you satisfied?

Or, are you striving to be better?

I think that’s an interesting thing to think about and a meeting with my CPA today made me contemplate this.  It was a great meeting; One that most business owners in this economy would kill for.  I was told that my business is solid, the contracts are in great shape and we’re profitable.

I should be satisfied, right?  I should be pleased with that.  I should be jumping up and down.

So, why aren’t I?  One answer is probably because I watch the news too much and I hear daily that the dark cloud of a recession is still hanging overhead.

But, the other more important reason is this.  I’m not satisfied because I know there’s always room to improve, room to grow, more to learn and new ideas to explore.  And, I know we have something good that can be better.

Thomas Edison said, “Discontent is the first necessity of progress.”  The way I look at it is if you’re happy with the status-quo then you are probably so busy protecting “what is” that you’re no longer seeing “what can be.”

Don’t get me wrong. I’m a glass-is-half-full kind of person and my New Year’s resolutions always start with:  Remain an optimist.  But, I also know that being satisfied in business often leads you to a flat-footed stance that can keep you in one place instead of moving forward.

I like the Edison quote but maybe The Rolling Stones put it best, “I can’t get no satisfaction!”  As you hum a few bars of that Stones classic think about adopting that phrase as your business mantra for a while and strive for the kind of growth and progress that can’t be stifled by the status-quo…or the recession.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 18, 2009 8:21 pm

    I like your message, Tina! I feel the same way, and am looking forward to continuing to partner with Marketwave on whatever exciting projects come your way…

  2. Eddy Smith permalink
    August 17, 2009 5:24 pm

    Glad to see you embark on this new venture! I hope that it helps spread the news that the MarketWave Team is the best in the biz!

Leave a Reply

