Skip to content

No longer “bending” the rules

September 19, 2011

I’ve always been a “play by the rules” kind of person. I don’t cheat during board games or cut in line at the movie theater and I even throw away milk on its expiration date. But when it comes to attending networking events, I have to admit, I tend to “bend” the rules a little. We all know the purpose of these events is to meet new people and expand our network, not spend time with friends and colleagues we already know. However, I have always preferred to stay in my comfort zone by bringing my designated “buffer” who would never leave my side. That is, until now.

I’ve recently moved to Houston, where I have limited professional contacts, and no buffer. So, I am now tasked with attending Houston networking events alone. My first Houston event was the International Association of Business Communicators (IABC), Houston Chapter’s monthly mixer. All day, I tried talking myself into skipping this event since I wouldn’t know anyone, but then I decided to “woman-up.” I grabbed my business cards, walked out the door and told myself it’s time to play by the rules.

When I arrived at the event, I had another urge to walk away, but I ignored this feeling and stretched my fingers in preparation to shake a lot of hands – and it’s a good thing I did. During the two-hour event, I met and conversed with seven new people, collected three business cards, learned about volunteer opportunities with the organization and won a gift card to a local restaurant through a business card drawing.

Breaking the ice by attending a networking event alone is one of the best things I have done for myself to get out of my comfort zone. I now have the confidence and motivation to continue attending events by myself. Have you attended a networking event solo lately? Try it out; you may find you make even more connections.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

