Skip to content

Guest Post: Like it? Pin it!

January 4, 2012

This week’s guest post comes from MarketWave’s intern, Yasmine Gila. Here she talks about her new favorite social media site, Pinterest.

I’m not ashamed to say that I’m addicted to social media. I’ve been on practically every site over the past few years. Who remembers MySpace and the lesser known site Hi5? I was on both.  My love for social media comes from my passion for sharing thoughts and pictures with friends, meeting new people who have common interests with me and keeping in touch with family. Yet, there comes a time when you think you are on enough platforms.

When I first heard about Pinterest I was reluctant to try it out. I was already on Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Foursquare, Klout, YouTube, Yelp, LinkedIn, WordPress, Instagram, Get Glue, StumbleUpon and Tumblr, so the last thing I wanted was another site to continually check and update.

After hearing more and more people talk about it, I thought I’d give it a try. Turns out, Pinterest has been around since 2009! Pinterest is a virtual pin board where users can organize and share things that interest them on the web. Users can also view pin boards created by others, repost what they like and voice their opinion through comments.

The initial feature that attracts many users like me is that Pinterest is invite only. Although it only takes about 30 minutes to be invited, the exclusiveness makes it a site many want to sign up for.  

Not only are people on Pinterest, but brands like Nordstrom, Real Simple and Whole Foods are noticing the benefits and are creating profiles. When these brands put their products into Pinterest, they allow users to repin these pictures on their own boards and share them with their friends. Each item pinned automatically links back to the original source (the brands website), instantly driving traffic to their site while giving them more exposure.

Are you on Pinterest? Do you follow any brands? Let us know!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2012 10:06 am

    There are so many fun ideas on there, such a great site.

  2. January 5, 2012 9:15 am

    This post might be the final straw in my fight to join yet another time-intensive social media site! I have the invite in my email inbox just waiting, luring me in!

    • Angela Ulrich permalink*
      January 5, 2012 10:14 am

      Do it! Then we can follow each other’s boards!

  3. January 5, 2012 2:19 am

    hope it will become on par with facebook, twiiter & other top social media sites

Trackbacks

  1. Day 8 – Dec Photo-A-Day Challenge | cool runnings

Leave a Reply

