Skip to content

Memes that marketers can appreciate

October 23, 2012

If you’re not familiar, memes are tokens of pop culture that are extremely viral on digital channels and fueled by humor, satire or both. They usually come in the form of a ridiculous image with a funny phrase slapped across the top and bottom.

It might be an understatement to say that I’m a fan of memes. These days, I’m pretty much obsessed. I know my colleagues would agree, given the bounty of them patched across my office wall.

And it’s not just because I think they’re hilarious – even though they are. It’s also not just because they’re so applicable to my craft: these brands have expertly found a way to weave memes into their own marketing campaigns.

What I love about memes – and what makes them so viral – is the camaraderie. There’s a reason we find them hilarious; they carry a thread of humor that binds us all together based on common interest, industry or experience. While they’re hot and trendy, I like to think of them as the ultimate vehicle for inside jokes.

The marketing/PR world is no exception. I hope clients and colleagues alike enjoy these silly memes (all created by the MarketWave team!) that any marketer can appreciate.

From me:

From Whitney:

From Michelle:

What are your favorite memes?

Leave a comment